Factory Reset Procedures

by Joe Waters

PreviousNextcentered text

Tyros3 procedures are described below. Further down the page, you will find procedures for the PSR2000/2100.

TYROS3 - Restoring the Factory-Programmed Settings

While holding the C6 key (right-most key on the keyboard), turn the [POWER] button ON. This restores the all settings (except Internet Settings) to the factory default.

C6 Factory Reset illustration

You can also restore a specified setting to the factory default value, or save/load your own reset settings.

Call up the operation display:

[FUNCTION] → [I] UTILITY → TAB to SYSTEM RESET.

There are two reset methods in the SYSTEM RESET display: Factory Reset and Custom Reset.

T3 Factory Reset graphic

Factory Reset

This setting allows you to restore the status of your Tyros3 to the original factory settings.

  1. Using the [1]-[3] buttons, check the item(s) to be restored. Turn the check mark ON or OFF by using the [4] buttons. (See below for more information about each of the FACTORY RESET options.)
  2. Press the [D] button to select the FACTORY RESET EXECUTE option.
  • SYSTEM SETUP - Restores the System Setup parameters to the original factory set- tings. Refer to the Data List for details about which parameters belong to the System Setup.
  • MIDI SETUP - Restores the MIDI settings including the MIDI templates on the USER tab display to the original factory status.
  • USER EFFECT - Restores the User Effect settings including the user effect types, user master EQ types, user compressor types, and user vocal harmony types created via the Mixing Console display to the original factory settings.
  • MUSIC FINDER - Restores the Music Finder data (all records) to the original factory settings.
  • FILES & FOLDERS - Deletes all files and folders stored in the USER tab display.
  • REGIST - Temporarily deletes the current Registration Memory settings of the selected Bank. The same can be done also by turning the [POWER] button ON while holding the B5 key (right-most B key on the key- board).
  • EXPANSION VOICE - Deletes all Expansion Voices.

Custom Reset

Custom Reset allows you to save your Original Setting as a single file for future recall.

  1. Make all your desired settings on the instrument.
  2. Call up the System Reset page: [FUNCTION] → [UTILITY] → [SYSTEM RESET]
  3. Press one of the [F] - [I] buttons to call up the relevant display for saving your data:
    • [F] SYSTEM SETUP FILES - Parameters set on the various displays such as the [FUNCTION] → [UTILITY] and microphone setting display are handled as a single System Setup file.
    • [G] MIDI SETUP FILES - The MIDI settings including the MIDI templates on the USER tab display are handled as a single file.
    • [H] USER EFFECT FILES - The User Effect settings including the user effect types, user master EQ types, user compressor types, and user vocal harmony types created via the Mixing COnsole displays are managed as a single file.
    • [I] MUSIC FINDER FILES - All the preset and created records of the Music Finder are handled as a single file.
  4. Use the <TAB> keys to select one of your available file storage areas (other than PRESET) where you will save your settings.
  5. Press the [6-B] button to SAVE your file.
  6. To recall your file, press the desired [F]-[I] buttons in the SYSTEM RESET display, then select the desired file.

PSR-2000/2100

The standard Yamaha factory reset procedure for many PSR Series keyboards will initialize the PSR System Setup Data, but not other data such as the MIDI Setup, Music Finder, and User Files/Folders; to do this, further steps are required (see below).

To Reset System Setup Only to Original Factory Settings:

  1. Turn OFF the keyboard.
  2. Press and hold down the rightmost white key (C) while turning ON the keyboard.
  3. Once the power is ON, release the key. The keyboard will reinitialize the System Setup to the original factory settings.

To Reset All or Selected Settings to Original Factory Settings

WARNING:  All user-stored data (Registrations, User Styles, Multipads, User Voices, User Songs, MIDI settings) will be deleted. If the current settings and data are not expendable, create a backup before executing the Factory Reset. This can be done by performing a Bulk Dump to an external MIDI storage device or by saving the user-stored data to a floppy disk via the internal disk drive of the keyboard.

  1. Press the [FUNCTION] button.
  2. Press the [I] UTILITY button.

    Function Menu screen

  3. Use the [BACK] and [NEXT] buttons to display the SYSTEM RESET tab on the UTILITY screen.

    Utility - System Reset screen
  4. Use the [A] - [E] buttons to select the desired data to be reset.
  5. Press the [1-A] FACTORY RESET EXECUTE button.
  6. Press the [G] YES button to confirm.
  7. Press the [G] YES button again to execute the reset.

PSR-2000 Owners Manual, p. 151.

PSR-2100 Owners Manual, p. 154.

 



This page updated on September 22, 2017 .